11G OCM Changing SYSMAN Password


I am trying to back on track for my OCM 11G upgrade exam. I am having problems with getting Grid Control working properly.

OMS Status

When I check the status of the OMS after startup of GRIDCTRL, I get the following messages:

[oracle@gridctrl ~]$ emctl status oms
Oracle Enterprise Manager 10g Release 5 Grid Control Copyright (c) 1996, 2009 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.
Oracle Management Server is not functioning because of the following reason: Connection to the repository failed. Verify that the repository connection information provided is correct.

Checking the OMS Logs

The log, /opt/oracle/app/OracleHomes/oms10g/sysman/log/emoms.log, shows:

2010-11-14 14:44:58,090 [Orion Launcher] ERROR conn.ConnectionService verifyRepositoryEx.911 - Invalid Connection Pool. ERROR = ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied

Resolution

So the problem is that I have forgotten the password for the SYSMAN account and I changed it to a known value without considering the OMS. I used Metalink Document How to Change the Password of SYSMAN User in Grid Control? [ID 270516.1] to resolve the issue. As I had already changed the SYSMAN in the REPOS database, all I needed to do was to run the following commands:

export ORACLE_HOME=/opt/oracle/app/OracleHomes/oms10g
cd $ORACLE_HOME/opmn/bin
./opmnctl stopall
cd $ORACLE_HOME/bin
./emctl config oms -change_repos_pwd
cd $ORACLE_HOME/opmn/bin
./opmnctl startall

After all of that, I am able to get the OMS running.

Leave a Reply

