New Server for Oracle 11.2 Clusterware and RAC Study


Have just ordered ThinkServer system TS130.

The reasons for this purchase are:

  • I need to upgrade to 64-bit because the OCM exam now requires it.
  • Memory requirements for 11.2 RAC are too big for 32-bit.

The Oracle Database 11g Certified Master Exam environment includes the following requirements:

Oracle Linux Release 5.4(64-bit)
Oracle Database 11g version 11.2.0.1 (64-bit)

In trying to install Oracle Clusterware 11.2 with ASM and RAC, I find I need to have at least 2.5GB for each image as I noted in 00 Create VMWare Image:

In Oracle® Grid Infrastructure Installation Guide 11g Release 2 (11.2) for Linux, the section, Checking the Hardware Requirements, says that:

At least 1.5 GB of physical RAM for grid infrastructure for a cluster installations without Oracle RAC; at least 2.5 GB of physical RAM if you plan to install Oracle RAC after installing grid infrastructure for a cluster.

So, I would aim for 2.5GB in memory but VMWare Workstation 8 advises that the maximum recommended memory is 2.1GB otherwise excessiove paging may be experienced. I went with the VMWare recommendation.

In view of these requirements, I have configured the server with:

  • Intel Xeon E3-1245 Processor (3.30GHz 1333MHz 8MB Quad Core)
  • Four (4) only 4GB ECC DDR3 PC3-10600 SDRAM (1333MHz uDimm) giving a total of 16GB RAM
  • Two (2) only NHS 1T SATA 3.5″ enterprise Hard Drive- 7200 rpm, 6Gb/s giving 2TB of disk space internally.

The price from Lenovo was AU$2,091.13. Apparently, I saved over AU$1,400 by ordering online, and I get free shipping.

I did not order an operating system because I plan to use Oracle VM natively on the server. I have been reading Oracle VM Implementation and Administration Guide by Edward Whalen in order to get myself ready.

This configuration should allow me to provision up to six (6) VM images on a single server. Imagine running a six (6) node 11.2 cluster at home!

2 thoughts on “New Server for Oracle 11.2 Clusterware and RAC Study

  1. XEN and Me – Yet Another OCM

Leave a Reply

