#OCM Does Not Get You a Job


I got an e-mail from someone thinks an OCM is worthless because no one has offered them a job after having attained that certification.

My simple response was that I viewed my own OCM as a personal achievement, rather a stepping stone to a job.

My own personal experience is that:

  • I have not been offered any jobs because I am an OCM
  • I did not get my current job because I was an OCM
  • There are too few OCMs in Australia for the certification to be a differentiator in the job market

Would I go for the 12c OCM? My answer is yes, because I find the OCM preparation and test to be personally challenging.

I would rather know that I fail at something than live in ignorance of my own shortcomings. Then I would take the challenge of overcoming that shortcoming.

3 thoughts on “#OCM Does Not Get You a Job

Leave a Reply

